Chesapeake Montessori School has more than 28 full and part-time faculty and staff, including teachers, classroom assistants, and administrative staff.

All Montessori teachers at CMS have been trained at an Association Montessori Internationale (AMI) training center. In order to earn the AMI Assistant to Infancy (toddler) or Primary Diploma (ages 2 1/2 – 6), a teacher must hold a bachelor’s degree and undergo a year of extensive training. To earn an AMI Advanced Diploma (ages 6 – 12) a teacher must hold a bachelor’s degree and undergo a year of additional study at an AMI center. To qualify as an AMI Adolescent Teacher (ages 12 – 15) a teacher must hold a bachelor’s degree and complete the Orientation to Adolescence training session. Most of our Montessori teachers also hold master’s degrees.

Equally important to the richness and quality of our staff is the on-going professional development encouraged at CMS. This includes workshops, refresher courses, introduction to current education and social thought, and review of Montessori theory and practice through our regular staff meetings. Staff development is supported by administration and the Board of Trustees.

Staff Directory

  • Robb Wirts
    Head of School
    r.wirts@chesapeake-montessori.com

    Jenna Hornick
    Office Manager
    reception@chesapeake-montessori.com

    Caroline Duffy
    Admissions Director
    admissions@chesapeake-montessori.com

    Stacey DeChant
    Advancement Director
    advancement@chesapeake-montessori.com

    Ruth Seerey
    Business Office Manager
    businessoffice@chesapeake-montessori.com

    Mike Murnane
    Transportation Coordinator
    m.murnane@chesapeake-montessori.com

    Brad Dawson
    Maintenance Manager & ASC Assistant
    b.dawson@chesapeake-montessori.com

  • Jenny Wyrick
    Young Child Community Directress
    j.wyrick@chesapeake-montessori.com

    Ann McKenna
    Young Child Community Assistant
    a.mckenna@chesapeake-montessori.com

    Marie Després Weeks
    French Specialist
    m.weeks@chesapeake-montessori.com

  • ~ PRIMARY 1 ~

    Michelle Washington
    Primary 1 Directress
    m.washington@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Kris Bettencourt
    Primary 1 Assistant
    k.bettencourt@chesapeake-montessori.com

    ~ PRIMARY 2 ~

    Paige Townsend Edwards
    Primary 2 Directress
    p.edwards@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Enas Khrais
    Primary 2 Assistant
    e.khrais@chesapeake-montessori.com

    ~ PRIMARY 3 ~


    Shandra Dohoney
    Primary 3 Directress
    s.dohoney@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Brandie Martensson
    Primary 3 Assistant
    b.martensson@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Marie Després Weeks
    French Specialist
    m.weeks@chesapeake-montessori.com

  • ~ LOWER ELEMENTARY ~


    Kelly Brown

    Lower Elementary Director
    k.brown@chesapeake-montessori.com

    Ashley Stubbs
    Lower Elementary Assistant
    a.stubbs@chesapeake-montessori.com

    ~ UPPER ELEMENTARY ~

    Caroline Morrison
    Upper Elementary Directress
    c.morrison@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Amanda Stubbs
    Upper Elementary Assistant
    amanda.stubbs@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Teddy Peyton
    Movement Coordinator & AP Assistant
    t.peyton@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Marie Després Weeks
    French Specialist
    m.weeks@chesapeake-montessori.com


  • Meg Fink

    Adolescent Program Director
    m.fink@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Erin Foley
    Adolescent Program Practitioner
    e.foley@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Meredith Cooley
    Adolescent Program Teacher
    m.cooley@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Ron Chambless
    Math Specialist
    r.chambless@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Teddy Peyton
    Movement Coordinator & AP Assistant
    t.peyton@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Marie Després Weeks
    French Specialist
    m.weeks@chesapeake-montessori.com


  • Amanda Stubbs
    Before-School Care Staff
    amanda.stubbs@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Amy Trader
    After-School Care Coordinator
    a.trader@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Brad Dawson
    Maintenance Manager and ASC Staff
    b.dawson@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Joan Kludy
    After-School Care Staff
    j.kludy@chesapeake-montessori.com


    Teddy Peyton

    After-School Enrichment Coordinator
    t.peyton@chesapeake-montessori.com

  • President
    Micelle Hallmark

    Vice President
    Jim Dickey

    Treasurer
    Vinny Perez

    Secretary
    Nikki Davis

    Members
    Amy Bradbury
    Justin Hoyt
    Dan Sonnett
    Sarah Volker

    Head of School
    Robb Wirts