Chesapeake Montessori School has more than 28 full and part-time faculty and staff, including teachers, classroom assistants, and administrative staff.

All Montessori teachers at CMS have been trained at an Association Montessori Internationale (AMI) training center. In order to earn the AMI Assistant to Infancy (toddler) or Primary Diploma (ages 2 1/2 – 6), a teacher must hold a bachelor’s degree and undergo a year of extensive training. To earn an AMI Advanced Diploma (ages 6 – 12) a teacher must hold a bachelor’s degree and undergo a year of additional study at an AMI center. To qualify as an AMI Adolescent Teacher (ages 12 – 15) a teacher must hold a bachelor’s degree and complete the Orientation to Adolescence training session. Most of our Montessori teachers also hold master’s degrees.

Equally important to the richness and quality of our staff is the on-going professional development encouraged at CMS. This includes workshops, refresher courses, introduction to current education and social thought, and review of Montessori theory and practice through our regular staff meetings. Staff development is supported by administration and the Board of Trustees.

Staff Directory

  • Robb Wirts
    Head of School

    Jenna Hornick
    Office Manager

    Caroline Duffy
    Admissions Director

    Stacey DeChant
    Advancement Director

    Ruth Seerey
    Business Office Manager

    Mike Murnane
    Transportation Coordinator

    Brad Dawson
    Maintenance Manager & ASC Assistant

  • Jenny Wyrick
    Young Child Community Directress

    Ann McKenna
    Young Child Community Assistant

    Marie Després Weeks
    French Specialist

  • ~ PRIMARY 1 ~

    Michelle Washington
    Primary 1 Directress

    Kris Bettencourt
    Primary 1 Assistant

    ~ PRIMARY 2 ~

    Paige Townsend Edwards
    Primary 2 Directress

    Enas Khrais
    Primary 2 Assistant

    ~ PRIMARY 3 ~

    Shandra Dohoney
    Primary 3 Directress

    Brandie Martensson
    Primary 3 Assistant

    Marie Després Weeks
    French Specialist


    Kelly Brown

    Lower Elementary Director

    Ashley Stubbs
    Lower Elementary Assistant


    Caroline Morrison
    Upper Elementary Directress

    Amanda Stubbs
    Upper Elementary Assistant

    Teddy Peyton
    Movement Coordinator & AP Assistant

    Marie Després Weeks
    French Specialist

  • Meg Fink

    Adolescent Program Director

    Erin Foley
    Adolescent Program Practitioner

    Meredith Cooley
    Adolescent Program Teacher

    Ron Chambless
    Math Specialist

    Teddy Peyton
    Movement Coordinator & AP Assistant

    Marie Després Weeks
    French Specialist

  • Amanda Stubbs
    Before-School Care Staff

    Amy Trader
    After-School Care Coordinator

    Brad Dawson
    Maintenance Manager and ASC Staff

    Joan Kludy
    After-School Care Staff

    Teddy Peyton

    After-School Enrichment Coordinator

  • President
    Micelle Hallmark

    Vice President
    Jim Dickey

    Vinny Perez

    Nikki Davis

    Amy Bradbury
    Justin Hoyt
    Dan Sonnett
    Sarah Volker

    Head of School
    Robb Wirts